• Mayor's Message
    Minutes & Agendas
    Borough Directory
    Budgets & Tax Records
    Trash & Recycling

Mayor & Council
Organization of Governing Body:  The Governing Body shall consist of the Mayor and six (6) councilpersons elected at large in the Borough, all of whom shall be elected and take office in the manner provided by law. The terms of office of the Mayor and Councilpersons shall commence on January 1 next following their election.

Meetings:  The Governing Body shall meet for organization during the first nine (9) days of January following each general election. Thereafter, the Borough Council shall meet regularly within the Borough at such times and places as provided by resolution. The Mayor shall, with the advice of the majority of Council, when necessary, call special meetings of the Council. In case of his neglect or refusal, any four (4) members of the Council may call such meetings at such time and place in the Borough as them may designate and, in all cases of special meetings, notice shall be given to all members of the Council. Three (3) Councilpersons and the Mayor and, in the absence of the Mayor, four (4) Councilpersons, shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business; but a smaller number may meet and adjourn. Notice of meetings shall be given in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act.

Powers and Duties of the Mayor:  The Mayor shall preside over all meetings of the Borough Council but shall not vote except to give the deciding vote in case of a tie. Unless provided to the contrary, the Mayor shall nominate and, with the advice and consent of the Council, appoint all officers in the Borough. No appointments shall be made except by vote of a majority of the members of the Council present at the meeting, provided that at least three (3) affirmative votes shall be required for such purpose, the Mayor to have no vote thereon except in case of a tie. Vacancies in appointive offices shall be filled by appointment in the same manner for the unexpired term only. The Mayor shall make nomination to fill a vacancy within thirty (30) days after the appointive office becomes vacant. If the Mayor fails to nominate within thirty (30) days or the Council fails to confirm any nomination made by the Mayor, then after the expiration of the thirty (30) days, the Council shall appoint the officer.

President of Council:  At the annual meeting the Borough Council, by a majority vote, shall elect from their number a President of the Council who shall preside at all of its meetings when the Mayor does not preside. The President of the Council shall hold office for one (1) year and until the next annual meeting. He/she shall have the right to debate and vote on all questions before the Council. If the Council at its annual meetings fails to elect a President, the Mayor shall appoint the President from the Council and in that case, no confirmation by the Council shall be necessary. If the Mayor is absent from the Borough for a period of three (3) days or for any reason is unable to act, the Council President shall perform all the duties of the Mayor during his absence or inability. The Mayor, in case of his intended absence from the Borough for more than three (3) days at any one time, shall notify the Council President in writing of his intended absence, whereupon the Council President shall be and become Acting Mayor from the receipt of notice and continue to act until the Mayor’s return.

Offical / Term Expiration / Liasons

Mayor Michael Putrino

Historic New Bridge Landing
Mayor's Wellness Committee
Community Development

Councilwoman Randi Duffie

Beautification Committee
Fire Department

Board of Health
Chamber of Commererce
100th Anniversary Committee

Councilwoman Hedy Grant

Board of Education
Office of Emergency Management
BCOS Municipal Reg. Com.
Library Board of Trustees
Planning Board
Community Development 

Councilwoman Thea Sirocchi-Hurley

Senior Advisory Board
100th Anniversary Committee
Public Events
Stigma Free
Historic Preservation

Councilwoman Lisa Sandhusen

Environmental & Energy Commission
Drug & Alcohol Municipal Alliance
Shade Tree Commission

Council President Ira Grotsky

Police Auxillary
Department of Public Works
Planning Board (Mayor's)
Parking Committee

Councilman Matthew Seymour

Rent Leveling
Ambulance Corps
Joint Insurance Fund (JIF)